Headies 2020 Countdown: Top 4 Controversial Moments And Talking Points


  • The Headies formerly known as Hip Hop World Awards started in 2006 to reward outstanding music achievements in the Nigeria musical industry.
  • One of the most anticipated award at the Headies is the Next Rated, This is award for the most promising upcoming act in the year under review.
  • For the past few years, the Next Rated award has always been a constant source of controversy

Nigerians are waiting in anticipation for the next Headies which is scheduled to take place on the February 21, 2021 at the prestigious La Campagne Tropicana Beach Resort Ibeju Lekki, Lagos.

EKO HOT BLOG  checks out the four controversial winners of the prestigious winners of next rated artist at the Headies.


Winner – Sean Tizzle

(Nominees: Burna Boy, Dammy Krane, Seyi Shay, Phyno)

Headies 2020 Countdown: Top 4 Controversial Moments And Talking PointsSean Tizzle won the Next Rated at the Headies in 2013 to beat the like of Dammy Krane, Seyi Shay, Phyno and Burna Boy thank to the success of his debut single “Sho Lee” and the single touted him as a special talent and a big deal on the music industry.

However, the announcement of Sean Tizzle was a snub to Burna Boy as exited the venue alongside his crew immediately Tizzle name was announced.

Many music lovers argued that Burna Boy would have been the ideal candidate to winner the award even after dropping a debut album, L.I.F.E, he has now gone to be among African finest in the music world.


Winner – Reekado Banks

(Nominees: Lil Kesh, Kiss Daniel, Korede Bello, Cynthia Morgan)

Headies 2020 Countdown: Top 4 Controversial Moments And Talking PointsThe 2015 edition of the Headies would go down in history as the most controversial award night in the country.

The event which held on January 1, 2015 at Landmark Event Center, Oniru was almost ruined by the dramatic war of words between Michael Collins Ajereh popularly known as Don Jazzy and Olamide Adedeji known as Olamide Baddo.

Going into the competition, many music lovers believed that the then YBLN signee, Lil Kesh would win the award owning to dropping of over 3 hit tracks “back – to -back” over the year in review.

Reekado Banks was announced the winner of the highly coveted Next Rated award at the event over Lil Kesh, the decision seems not going down well with YBLN boss Olamide Adedeji.

While Adekunle Gold was giving his acceptance speech for winning the ‘Best Alternative Song’ award, Olamide and his stormed the stage to vent his disappointment as claimed that his signee, Lil Kesh was the most deserving to win the award.

He took the microphone from Adekunle Gold and he said, “Adekunle, let’s be honest, this award belongs to Lil Kesh because Lil Kesh is our next rated.”

He further added, “Every f***ing single was a hit back to back, from ‘Lyrically’ to ‘Shoki’ to ‘Efejoku’; ko ni dafun Iya anybody.”

Olamide angrily slammed the microphone on the floor and threw his cap into the cheering crowd before leaving the stage.


Winner – Mr Eazi

Controversy emanated prior to the 2016 Headies when one of the acclaimed strongest nominee, Tekno pulled out from the award . The Pana master expressed his displeasure over the nomination on his instagram post, in his words,

“Next rated after how many years! Let’s be honest pls”

He was subsequently disqualified by the organizer for failing to his refusal to honour the category and support the campaign. Mr Eazi won the award beating Ycee, Humblesmith and Aramide.


Winner – Mayorkun

Headies 2020 Countdown: Top 4 Controversial Moments And Talking Points(Nominees: Maleek Berry, Johnny Drille, Dice Ailes, Zoro)

The 2018 edition was also characterized with controversy when the organizer announced the a signee under the record label of  Davido Music Worldwide (DMW) , Mayorkun, has the winner of the coveted award.

Some followers of the event argued that it would have been more deserve by either Maleek Berry or Johnny Drille to win the award because they have better lyrics than Mayorkun.


Facebook Comments

Advertise or Publish a Story on EkoHot Blog:

Kindly contact us at ekohotblog@gmail.com. Breaking stories should be sent to the above email and substantiated with pictorial evidence.

Citizen journalists will receive a token as data incentive.

Call or Whatsapp: 0803 561 7233, 0703 414 5611