President Buhari Replaces Lauretta Onochie As INEC Commissioner

File Photo: President Buhari & Onochie
  • Lauretta Onochie’s nomination to be an INEC commissioner elicited wide outrage… 

EKO HOT BLOG reports that President Muhammadu Buhari has replaced Lauretta Onochie’s nomination as national commissioner of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) with May Agbamuche-Mbu.

This was after Mrs Onochie was rejected by the senate because her nomination violated the Federal Character Principle.

President Buhari reappointed Mbu who was confirmed an INEC commissioner by the 8th senate and who is also from Delta State to replace rejected Onochie.

Buhari also nominated Ukeagu Kenneth Nnamdi (Abia – South East), Major General A. B. Alkali (rtd) – (Adamawa, North East), Engr. (Prof.) Rhoda H. Gumus (Bayelsa – South-South), Mr. Sam Olumekan (Ondo – South West) as National Commissioners of INEC.

Read also: Buhari Nominates 12 National Commissioners For INEC, NPC (See Full List)

Olaniyi Olaleye Ijalaye (Ondo – South West) was nominated as Resident Electoral Commissioner.

The president called on Ahmed Lawan, the senate-president to confirm the nominees in a recent letter he sent to the legislature.

Lauretta Onochie’s nomination to be an INEC commissioner elicited wide outrage with scores of Nigerians and group petitioning the senate to outrightly reject her nomination.

She was seen as a rabid partisan, a member of the All Progressives Congress, who does not meet the criterion of neutrality that INEC job demands.

The senate eventually rejected her on the ground that her nomination violated the Federal Character principle.

Click to watch our video of the week:


INEC: New Electoral Law Now Awaits NASS, Presidency

Advertise or Publish a Story on EkoHot Blog:

Kindly contact us at Breaking stories should be sent to the above email and substantiated with pictorial evidence.

Citizen journalists will receive a token as data incentive.

Call or Whatsapp: 0803 561 7233, 0703 414 5611